Skip to content

Downfall

September 29, 2013
Californian-born singer-songwriter Matt Costa happens to be a friend of Jack Johnson (you can watch them perform their duet Lullaby here) but is without a doubt a talented musician and lyricist in his own right, plus he’s great for car music – long or short journeys. But what direction are we going in? What I am trying to say/Is that we’re losing our way (Fyfe Dangerfield) Let’s take a look at and have a listen to Matt Costa’s Downfall to see what he has to say:
 
If I wait long enough someone might come out
If I tired I could be somebody else
 
So I follow false prophets walking down my street
To keep, keep me busy so soundly I sleep
But it’s all in the downfall of me, all in the downfall
 
Don’t bury my feet so I can’t run
I’ll be your martyr in bells
Well I’ve walked in your steps and held my breath
Until your words reached the air
 
Then I lied with the poets face first in the street
When the world cast its shadow I became its sheep
But it’s all in the downfall of me, all in the downfall
 
So I follow false prophets walking down my street
To keep, keep me busy so soundly I sleep
I lied with the poets face first in the street
When the world casts its shadow I became its sheep
 
But it’s all been the downfall, it’s all been the downfall
It’s all been the downfall of me
All in the downfall of me
 
The Bible says that a false prophet is someone who does not acknowledge that Jesus is from God and someone who can be recognised by his fruit (see 1 John 4:1-3, Matthew 7:15-16, 24:10-13 and 2 Peter 2:1-3).
 
Isaiah, a true prophet who foresaw Jesus’ coming 700 years beforehand, writes: We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way; and the LORD has laid on him [Jesus] the iniquity of us all. (Isaiah 53:6)
 
Our downfall finds it root cause in the fall and its way out in falling at Jesus’ feet (see Philippians 2:5-11).
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

