Skip to content

Too good to save it for later

September 24, 2011

(Other posts on Kings of Convenience include Declaration of Dependence and Misread)

I was pleasantly surprised to hear Kings of Convenience on the radio in a cash-and-carry in Austria. One of my favourite songs of theirs has to be I Don’t Know What I Can Save You From. You can watch them perform it live here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDiMe3SaLtE.

You called me after midnight,
it must have been three years since we last spoke.

I slowly tried to bring back
the image of your face from the memories so old.
I tried so hard to follow,
but didn’t catch a half of what had gone wrong,
said “I don’t know what I can save you from”.
I don’t know what I can save you from.

I asked you to come over,
and within half an hour,
you were at my door.
I’ve never really known you,
but I realized that the one you were before,
had changed into somebody for whom
I wouldn’t mind to put the kettle on.
Still I don’t know what I can save you from.
I don’t know what I can save you from.

Every now and then, somebody opens up to us and we see the guilt and longing and not knowing that lies dormant in their soul and ours. At these rare moments we’re lost for words if we look to ourselves for the saving. We can’t save ourselves let alone anybody else. The best we can do is put the kettle on.

Not so with Jesus: “he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them. (Hebrews 7:25)

“For the Son of Man came to seek and to save what was lost.” (Luke 19:10)

The words of Kings of Convenience have a poignancy to them that rings true: we need saving, but in order to know how we can be saved, we need to know what we need saving from.

So what do we need saving from? The Bible puts it clearly: we need saving from ourselves, our own sinful nature, which leads us to rebel against God and each other.

And how can we be saved? In an act of undeserved grace, we can be saved from sin and death into life and peace, when we trust in Jesus, “the one mediator between God and men” (1 Timothy 2:5).

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.” (Ephesians 2:8)
 
Through Jesus’ death on the cross and resurrection into new life, we can be reconciled to God: “Since we have now been justified by his blood, how much more shall we be saved from God’s wrath through him! For if, when we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life! Not only is this so, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.” (Romans 5:9-11)
5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 20:31

    Amen – Jesus is the Saviour and not me. (Though it’s hard to think of a pastoral situation that can’t be helped by sticking the kettle on too..!)

  2. September 25, 2011 23:07

    :-)

  3. October 25, 2011 16:17

    This is one of my favorite songs! Est-ce que tu connais Grand Corps Malade avec “J#ai pas les mots”? Profite de cette pièce de musique sublime

Trackbacks

  1. Sauve-moi une mise « Calme dans le chaos
  2. I apologise for any convenience caused… « calminthechaotic

Leave a Reply

