Skip to content

Mumford & Sons – Sigh No More

June 27, 2011

Mumford & Sons: “the group who took contemporary folk to the mainstream” (BBC).

After watching their incredible performance at Glastonbury (including songs from their upcoming album) on iplayer, I was prompted to write about them on my blog, wondering why I’d never got round to it before now.

It’s impossible to pick a favourite song by this band made up of folk-influenced and life-inspired talented musicians, but one of their classics has got to be the title track of their previous album: Sigh No More.

Serve God love me and men
This is not the end
Live unbruised we are friends
And I’m sorry, I’m sorry

Sigh no more, no more
One foot in sea one on shore
My heart was never pure
You know me
You know me

And man is a giddy thing
Oh man is a giddy thing
Oh man is a giddy thing
Oh man is a giddy thing

Love that will not betray you,
dismay or enslave you,
It will set you free
Be more like the man
you were made to be.
There is a design,
An alignment to cry,
At my heart you see,
The beauty of love
as it was made to be*

These lyrics remind me of what Paul says in Galatians: “You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.” (Galations 5:13) This idea of the “flesh”, that is sinful nature (an inborn tendency to rebel against God) can be seen in the words “My heart was never pure”.

God knows this – the words “You know me” bring to mind the Psalmist’s: “O LORD, you have searched me and you know me.” (Psalm 139:1) Yet, despite knowing this, God sent his Son – the perfect sacrifice – to die for us that we might be set free by the gospel of love, a “love that will not betray you/ dismay or enslave you./ It will set you free.” These words remind me of what Jesus said as recorded by eyewitness John: “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”  (John 8:36) This message of love and salvation frees us up to “Be more like the man/ you were made to be”.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation: The old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

*For more on “The beauty of love/ as it was made to be”, read Mona – The Art of Love

Read the whole of Psalm 139 here.

Leave a Reply

