Skip to content

Twentyhood

May 24, 2011
tags:

In Barrett Browning’s ‘Aurora Leigh’, the narrator Aurora has an answer to that unanswerable birthday question, “What does it feel like to be…?” Here it is:

I stood upon the brink of twenty years,
And looked before and after, as I stood
Woman and artist,-either incomplete,
Both credulous of completion. […]
I felt so young, so strong, so sure of God!

I don’t know about you, but I can’t say that I always feel young (like Aurora, I think it’s possible to feel “old at twenty”, for “even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall” – Isaiah 40:30)—neither can I say I feel very strong, but one thing I do know, and that is that I can be sure of God. The verse from Isaiah doesn’t end there; it is followed by a breathtaking ‘but’:

“Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” (Isaiah 40:30-31)

Leave a Reply

