Skip to content

Sparrow – Simon and Garfunkel

May 23, 2011

When I came across Simon and Garfunkel’s song Sparrow on their youtube mix, I was curious to see what they had to say…

Who will love a little Sparrow?
Who’s travelled far and cries for rest?
“Not I,” said the Oak Tree,
“I won’t share my branches with
no sparrow’s nest,
And my blanket of leaves won’t warm
her cold breast.”

Who will love a little Sparrow
And who will speak a kindly word?
“Not I,” said the Swan,
“The entire idea is utterly absurd,
I’d be laughed at and scorned if the
other Swans heard.”

Who will take pity in his heart,
And who will feed a starving sparrow?
“Not I,” said the Golden Wheat,
“I would if I could but I cannot I know,
I need all my grain to prosper and grow.”

Who will love a little Sparrow?
Will no one write her eulogy?
“I will,” said the Earth,
“For all I’ve created returns unto me,
From dust were ye made and dust ye shall be.”

Simon and Garfunkel’s concept of a Creator seems to stretch only as far as a vague idea of ‘Mother Earth’. Yet they end their song with a quote from Genesis: “for dust you are and to dust you will return.” (Genesis 3:19)

As I’m sure many of you will know, Genesis is the book which starts with the famous words, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth” (1:1) and then goes on to describe how God created all things, including the sparrow, which falls under the category of “birds [that] fly above the earth across the face of the firmament of the heavens” (Genesis 1:21).

I wonder if Simon and Garfunkel could sympathise with the words of the Psalmist when he wrote:  “I lie awake, and am like a sparrow alone on the housetop.” (Psalm 102:7)

Jesus spoke of the sparrow when comforting his disciples, as recorded in the gospel of Matthew: “Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.” (Matthew 10:29-31)

(Photos to be found on google/images.com)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 18:36

    Simon and Garfunkel. EPIC-NESS. I absolutely LOVE them. I just went and heard sparrow – loved it.

Trackbacks

  1. On Arrival or Return Flight « calminthechaotic

Leave a Reply

