Skip to content

The Petty Concerns of Luke Wright

May 8, 2011

Luke Wright is a young performance poet (“the best young poet around” according to The Observer) who I’ve been privileged enough to watch and have some correspondence with (I say that, basically I sent him a fan email). When it comes to poetry and having a voice, he knows what he’s talking about:

Poetry, sadly, is a competitive world. Best bit of advice I got was to “not look sideways.” As I say in my show, you can’t wait to hang your smiles on the whims of strangers, you have to be happy with what you’re doing. On the other hand, don’t be put off by metre, learn about it and then use what you want of what you know.

I’ll leave you with another thought-provoking quote from Mr Wright himself: Maybe some of us need diluting. I needed diluting. My ego and ambition left undiluted were corroding my soul.

Now that’s what I call profound.

Poems, blogs, tweets, videos etc – www.lukewright.co.uk

Leave a Reply

